Accuracy Players, What Keyboards/Settings do you use?

Hi, I am very new to Etterna and am enjoying the game alot.

I am trying to learn how to play the game using J7 and the GMMK TKL w/ Kailh Purples.

I simply have a few questions to ask:

1. What Keyboards & KB Polling Rate do you guys use?
  2. How can I figure out my KB Polling Rate?
  3. Is J7 Optimal starting point?
  4. What are some things I should be doing to achieve best accuracy/technique?

hi, mediocre acc player here

1. cherry mx red switches
  2. dunno
  3. j7 is a useful tool for training accuracy if used properly- j4-6 are just as valid judges to use for accuracy training- its just about the kind of feedback you want in the moment. I like using j7 to go for perfect full combos (since its convenient that a j4 great == j7 cb)
  4. start with lower difficulty charts and don’t neglect technical patterns.

If you actually have no experience with rhythm games like this then J7 is not the place to start out since it is more for getting extremely tight feedback which you won’t find a use for if the majority of your hits aren’t tight in the first place.
You want to stay on J4 until you are very comfortable with the game at least.

2 Likes
  1. Keyboards really only functionally matter at the highest levels of accuracy and speed play, but I maintain a spreadsheet with community info about mechanical keyboards here: Sheet
    At the moment I am using a CK552 with Gateron Reds, which sports a 1000hz polling rate (literally the only polling rate your expensive mech keyboard should ever have or you’re wasting your money).